Monday, August 16, 2010

Cork Harbour Deep Sea Angling Championships

Monkstown SAC recently hosted the 2010 Cork Harbour Angling Championships. The event was a great success. The Harbour Championships is an annual event where all the Harbour angling clubs compete against each other. Its much looked forward to and is extremely competitive. This year the Angelsea A team, consisting of Tony Cotter, Kevin Cotter, Ian Murphy, and Finbar O' Sullivan, took the honours and held off stiff competition from 16 other teams. In second place were the Crosshaven A team, with Crosshaven C a close third.

In the individual rankings, Henry Ross of Crosshaven came first and is the Harbour Champion for 2010. Well done Henry! In second place was Ruud Boelhouwer also representing Crosshaven. Third was Ken Murphy of Anglesea. Very little separated the remaining anglers in the top ten spots reflecting the stiff competition for top places. In all 66 anglers fished the event and, despite the competiveness, a great day was had by all.

The quality of the fishing was superb. The weather was very kind, which allowed all boats the opportunity to fish the outer harbour grounds. Many boats ventured to the Smiths, with a few heading down east to Power Head and the Pollack Rock buoy. This was reflected in the fish catches with 1,121 fish caught and over 14 species landed. This gave an average of 17 fish per angler, a great return by any means. Pollack predominated the catches, followed by conger, and then whiting, lsd's, cod, pouting, ling, ballen wrasse, cuckoo wrasse, grey gurnard, coalfish, dabs, bull huss, and haddock. A great selection!

Many thanks to John Martin, Denis O' Byrne, Mary Geary and the crew at Monkstown SAC whose organisation beforehand and on the day was superb.

This annual event is a great competition and a great day out. It is, however, restricted to members of the Harbour angling clubs. All these clubs are very progressive and organise a full calender of matches fished inside and outside the harbour. Some also have a shore match calender. If you would like to join one of these clubs you should contact the club secretary. All new members are very welcome. Details are as follows:

AGHADA SAC, Donal Domeney, E-mail:
ANGELSEA SAC, Pete Davis, E-mail:
CARRIGALINE SAC, Flor Kent, E-mail:
CLOYNE SAC, Maria Lewis, E-mail:
COBH SAC, Mary Geary, E-mail:
CROSSHAVEN SAC, Jackie O' Keeffe, E-mail:
EAST FERRY SAC, Des O' Connell, E-mail:
MONKSTOWN SAC, Aiden O' Byrne, E-mail:

No comments:

Post a Comment